Forum

Notifications
Clear all

Playing pretty

(@danielbeaver1icloud-com)

Hello everybody.  I have been playing on and off for 20 years, but have been a CGO member for only a couple months.  I really enjoy this site and it has me practicing more than I every have.  I have noticed (now that I have Devin to compare myself with) that when I play a tune that it always sounds "prettier"when Devin does it.  I know there is a lot that goes into this - intonation, correct timing, etc.  Is there a good way to become technically better than just playing and learning new songs?  Will this come naturally as I put the time in? Are there technical drills I should be doing? Should I be practicing scales slowly and precisely?  I have a decent guitar (Martin HD 28) that I think is set up right. Thanks!

Topic starter Posted : January 7, 2019 10:07 AM
(@larrydcox44gmail-com)
Trusted Member

Daniel, I'm probably not the right person to try and answer this as I'm sort of a beginner, but I think you answered your own question. I would say, yes, it's putting in the time, drills, and practicing scales slowly and precisely. I would also say that maybe playing shouldn't become so focused on learning all the time that it stops being as much fun. Get out and either play or listen to other guitar players. After you've played for a while it gets easier to pick up on what others are doing and to incorporate it into your playing.

It's frustrating and, believe me, I have the same issue as you. My stuff doesn't sound as good as Devin's, or as "pretty" even when I play it note for note with the tablature. I am getting a little better though, and that keeps me going. I'm working hard on getting my pick stroke direction right and am hoping my speed will eventually increase. In the meantime, I'll put the tabs down sometimes and just play the guitar. Out of that have come some pleasant discoveries.

ReplyQuote
Posted : January 18, 2019 7:33 AM
(@goandriusgmail-com)