Forum

G Chord Fingering

Notifications
Clear all

G Chord Fingering

(@winstonawaregmail-com)

Hey Devin (and anyone who'd like to chime in),

I've been playing for four years now.  I'm a terribly slow learner but I make up for it with effort, enjoyment, and a sense of achievement in even the most minor of accomplishments.  I practice about an hour/day everyday.  When I started out it was recommended to me to play the G chord with my 2nd, 3rd, and 4th fingers leaving the B string open.  As I recall the logic to this was that the C chord was an easier transition from that G chord position.  I noticed that you play (and your tablature) suggests playing the G chord with all four fingers playing a d note on the 2nd string rather than leaving the B string open.  I like the sound of your G chord a little better.  Is that what you would recommend to me?  Transition to the 4 fingered G chord?

Thanks for any thoughts, Winston

Topic starter Posted : January 4, 2019 7:13 AM
 Alex
(@alexcontinilive-co-uk)
Eminent Member

Hi Winston,

that is a very common variation of the standard 3 finger G chord. It's an embellishment that sounds better in many contexts and allows to transition to several D chords with ease. Not always required though.

ReplyQuote
Posted : January 5, 2019 4:47 AM
(@devin)
Noble Member Admin

Hey Winston,

I agree with both you and Alex -- I like the sound of the four finger G chord better (320033) in most cases and I think it fits in better with bluesier country songs because the three finger G chord (320003) has a little "happier" major sound to my ear...and like Alex said, that four finger G chord lets you transition to the D chord easily since your ring finger stays planted on the same note. It's also really easy to transition from the four finger G chord to the Cadd9. I don't use the Cadd9 in bluegrass much but I'll use it more for country.