Forum

Beginner Advice

Notifications
Clear all

Beginner Advice

Page 1 / 2
(@danonebauknight)

Hi, I am a full grown adult trying to learn guitar(40).  I’ve been playing about an hour most days for about 8 months now and very little before that.  My goal is to be able to play a bit of bluegrass with my friends.  

im working on the country strumming course.  I made it through the Willie Nelson’s and Randi Travis but on lessons 4&5 the patterns are taking me a long time to pick up.  My question is should I just grind it out until I get it or should I stick with the more simple stuff for a while.  Just getting a bit frustrated with the progress which I’m guessing some of you have pushed through?

Topic starter Posted : May 15, 2020 2:44 PM
fransverboom, jerseychicadee, John and 6 people reacted
Eric Reinhardt
(@rinny51)
Famed Member

some people pick things certain things up quicker than others. Some of the lessons will be easier than others. I have been playing for 20+ years and there is still tons of stuff that i just have to keep trying over and over. The key is to not get discouraged and quit. I know a ton of people that tell me they have a guitar and some day are going to learn to play it. I always tell then to start by learning a couple of chords and then expand from there.

ReplyQuote
Posted : May 15, 2020 4:34 PM
fransverboom, jerseychicadee, John and 5 people reacted
(@danonebauknight)

@rinny51 sounds like good advice.  Not sure why it took me so long actually to pick it up... maybe that I just never had a good place to practice (which I do now).  Plus splurging on a Martin for my 40th helped the motivation :).

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : May 15, 2020 5:39 PM
Eric Reinhardt
(@rinny51)
Famed Member

@danonebauknight it does help to have a nice guitar

ReplyQuote
Posted : May 16, 2020 12:56 AM
fransverboom, jerseychicadee, John and 4 people reacted
 Eric
(@ethen75gmail-com)